How to delete a video sent on Facebook Messenger

In recent years, privacy is a major talking point when it comes to instant messaging and Facebook is definitely not the user privacy champion. However, some features added to Instagram and Messenger made things a bit better. Now, if you were wondering if you can delete Facebook Messenger messages, be that a video, photo, or attachment, for all users, the answer is yes. Learn how to do it below.

How to use Unsend on Facebook Messenger to remove videos

Back in 2018, Facebook introduced an option to delete sent messages for all included parties as long as users do it in the 10-minutes window. Nowadays, there’s no time limit and you can delete messages and media files you shared whenever you please. For you and for recipients.

So, the feature conveniently called Unsend is still alive and well and you can use it to delete text messages, videos, photos, or attachments with ease. You can also cancel sending videos while they’re uploading before they reach Facebook servers.

Here’s how to delete a video sent on Facebook Messenger:

  1. Open Messenger and select the conversation.
  2. Tap and hold on to the video and select Remove in the bottom bar.
  3. Tap Unsend to delete it completely from the conversation for all included parties.delete a video sent on messenger
  4. You can also tap Remove for you to delete a video from chat only for you.

Upon deletion, your recipients will see that the message is unsent. Have in mind that, if the conversation is reported and Facebook is doing an evaluation, the deleted video will appear for them.

Also, you won’t be notified if recipients download or forward the videos before you remove them for everyone. If you’re really self-conscious about messages you send, you can use the Vanish mode that will delete seen messages the moment you close the chat.

Or, alternatively, you can use Secret conversations. This option brings end-to-end encryption to Messenger messages and calls along with disappearing messages. You can set a time frame when messages will auto-delete. Starting with 5 seconds and up to 24 hours.delete a video sent on messenger

To enable Vanish mode or Secret conversations, tap on the “i” icon at the top right corner in a conversation/chat window. You should see both options in the feature list.

And, with that said, we can conclude this article. Thank you for reading and don’t forget to share your thoughts with us in the comments section below. Also, check out our Twitter and Facebook for more informative content about all things Android and iOS.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

If you just learned something new about your phone, and want more of that, subscribe to our newsletter.

We guarantee 100% privacy. Your name/email address will never be shared.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments