Search
Close this search box.
Subscribe to our Newsletter!

If you just learned something new want more of that, subscribe to our newsletter.

Related

How to stop sharing Google Photos with others

How to stop sharing Google Photos with others

The good thing about Google Photos’ shared albums (or individual photos and videos) is that you can revoke access if you decide to. Not only that, but you can also change the level of access collaborators have. We made sure to explain how to stop sharing Google Photos with others below.

Turn off Link Sharing in Google Photos

The toggle to turn off link sharing in Google Photos can be found under the Sharing tab. That’s where all shared albums and photos appear, including the ones shared with you and the ones that you shared with others. Now, disabling link sharing will prevent re-sharing of your album (photo or video) via the link. This doesn’t mean the current collaborators will be removed.

Besides removing Link sharing, you can also remove individual collaborators or even block them. This is important because, even if you disable link sharing, the current collaborators will still have access to the album. Of course, you’ll need to remove them one by one or just delete the album/photo/video.

As a side note, you can prevent collaborators from adding their photos or videos and from leaving comments and liking photos under the same menu.

Here’s how to turn off sharing and stop sharing your Google Photos with others:

  1. Open Google Photos.
  2. Tap the Sharing tab.
  3. Select an album or photo/video group you want to stop sharing.
  4. Tap on the 3-dots menu and open Options.
  5. Disable Link sharing.
  6. To remove people/collaborators, tap on the 3-dots menu next to their names and select Remove person.stop sharing google photos

As an alternative, you can just delete or edit the album after you save all necessary photos. That’s probably the easiest way to deal with this if you have a lot of collaborators (e.g. if you shared an album publicly) and want to revoke access to an album or photo/video group. Deleting an album won’t delete photos from the library.

To re-enable Link sharing, just get back to Options and enable Link sharing. Copy the link and share the album/photo or video group again.

And, with that said, we can conclude this article. Thank you for reading and don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments section below. We look forward to hearing from you.

Editor’s note: This article was initially published in April 2022. We made sure to revamp it for freshness and accuracy.

Picture of Aleksandar Ognjanovic

Aleksandar Ognjanovic

Managing editor at Mobile Internist. @lemmingspain My fascination with mobile technology, particularly Android and iOS, began years ago and continues today. I'm captivated by the constant evolution in the smartphone industry and its impact on our daily lives, always anticipating the next big innovation. That’s the main reason why I found myself writing instructive content on the subject for users who are not as familiar with all the bells and whistles.
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments