How to change iPhone screen timeout? Learn here

iPhone screen timeout and auto-lock feature is there since the emergence of iOS and it’s a setting that’s rarely meddled with. By default, Auto-Lock is set to 30 seconds which is the shortest time interval. You can increase the time when your screen times out after inactivity or even disable Auto-Lock and stick to invoking iPhone Screen Timeout on your own.

If you want to learn how to do it, follow the instructions we provided below.

How do you change the screen timeout on iOS?

If you were wondering can you change the Auto-lock Screen Timeout on your iPhone, the answer is definitely yes. You can choose between 6 time intervals or opt for disabling the Auto-Lock option altogether.

The available options range from 30 seconds to 5 minutes. This option not only applies to turning the screen off after a certain time interval but, as the name says, it locks your device automatically.

Now, we always suggest setting the shortest available value to save your battery. And, considering the display is the major battery consumer, the sooner it turns off after a period of inactivity, the better. Of course, some users might disagree and prefer to keep the screen on for a longer time.

Either way, changing iPhone Screen Timeout in Auto-Lock is rather simple on iOS and you can do it from system settings. Here’s how to change Auto-lock on your iPhone:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap Display & Brightness.
  3. Tap Auto-Lock.
  4. Select the preferred time interval or disable Auto-Lock.

You can always lock your device and power off screen by pressing the Power (Sleep) button on your iPhone if you decide to disable the Auto-Lock.

And, on that note, we can conclude this article. Thank you for reading and feel free to share your suggestions or post questions. You can do that in the comments section below. We always appreciate your feedback.

Get to know your phone!

If you just learned something new about your phone, and want more of that, subscribe to our newsletter.

We guarantee 100% privacy. Your name/email address will never be shared.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments