How to log out of Find my iPhone

The Find My is definitely one of the best safety solutions in the world of smartphones. It helps you find your device if you lost it and, thanks to the introduction of AirTags, it can be used for anything and everything. However, if you don’t want to use it or you won’t be using the current iPhone anymore, you can easily disable it. Below, we explain how to log out of Find My iPhone with ease.

How do I remove a device from Find My?

You are probably well aware that this is not advised for your active devices, since it can literally help you find even some third-party devices and accessories after iOS 14. But, if you are, say, selling a device and want it gone from the list in Find My, you can do it with ease.

Besides disabling tracking of your device, removing a device from “Find My” will automatically disable the Share My Location feature. So, they won’t be able to find you based on that device’s location anymore.

Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap on your Account.
  3. Select your iPhone from the Devices section.
  4. Toggle Find My iPhone off.
  5. Enter the AppleID password when prompted and tap Turn Off.

If the device is offline or you don’t have it on you, you can remove it from the list of “Find My” devices from any other device. You only need to be signed in with your AppleID account. You can use any browser on any device to log into your Apple Account and then get quick access to Find iPhone. Once there, select the device from the drop-down menu and tap Erase iPhone.

If you are selling, trading, or giving away your iPhone, you should definitely make some effort to remove the device from Find My. It won’t take too much of your time. The only way to do so is by deleting all data from the device via the factory reset. Here’s how to reset your device to factory settings and delete all your personal data and disable Find My  in the process:

  1. Make sure to back up everything to iCloud. Navigate to Settings > Your Account at the top > iCloud > iCloud Backup and tap Back up Now.
  2. Then, get back to Settings.
  3. Select General.
  4. Tap Reset.
  5. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  6. Enter PIN/Password when prompted and confirm.

And, after that, you can safely sell, trade, or give away your iPhone. And, on that note, we can conclude this article. In case you have any questions or suggestions, make sure to share them with us in the comments section below. We look forward to hearing from you.

Get to know your phone!

If you just learned something new about your phone, and want more of that, subscribe to our newsletter.

We guarantee 100% privacy. Your name/email address will never be shared.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments